kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

What’s in My Pantry? October 30, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kathy Brown @ 2:09 pm

dsc05724So last fall (2015) my daughter healed from all of her food intolerances and can eat anything. So now, it’s my son, 16, who can’t have gluten, dairy, soy, or eggs (if the chicken has been feed soy) and me. I have the longer list these days. I can’t have: gluten, dairy, soy, garlic, chocolate, turmeric, beef, black tea, tree nuts, grapefruit, mango (most fruits actually because I’m very low fructose), and probably others I’m forgetting.

I like whole foods, and I like cooking/baking from scratch, however, I also work 2 jobs, so I do like some convenience foods when I can get them. So if you’re new to this, and want to stock your pantry, these are brands that I’ve found to be safe, and are great to be able to make all sorts of things (remember that we are a mixed house – 3 of us can eat anything, two are restricted):

  • ketchup: Simply Heinz (made with sugar; no corn syrup)
  • Price Rite brand hot sauce (like Frank’s Red Hot, but it doesn’t have garlic in it) because I love hot wings and buffalo chicken dip
  • Whole Foods 365 Mayonnaise (the only one I’ve found with no soy and actually tastes good; not safe for son)
  • Pamela’s gluten free flour blend (I buy it on Subscribe & Save on Amazon and store it in an airtight bin, which sits in the kitchen, next to the cooktop)
  • Old El Paso corn taco shells (Ortega has soy in them)
  • Ancient Harvest Quinoa flakes (for chicken nuggets) and Quinoa
  • canola oil
  • olive oil
  • Nutiva coconut oil
  • Nature’s Promise organic balsamic vinegar
  • apple cider vinegar
  • brown sugar
  • confectioner’s sugar (if you can’t have corn, Trader Joe’s has one made with tapioca starch, but it’s seasonal for some odd reason – who only bakes seasonally?)
  • Bob’s Red Mill flax meal (egg replacement; I keep mine in the freezer, along with Red Star yeast)
  • chia seeds (egg replacement)
  • dried black beans
  • dried navy beans
  • from my mother’s organic garden: canned tomatoes, zucchini relish, sweet pickles, dill pickles, popcorn, Jacob’s cattle beans, applesauce, beets (pickled and plain), roasted pumpkin seeds. Since it’s October, I also have butternut squash, baking potatoes, and onions from her.
  • So Delicious culinary coconut milk
  • King Arthur gluten free yellow cake mix
  • King Arthur gluten free doughnut mix
  • Zico coconut water
  • Heartland and Barilla gluten free pasta (Tinkyada for lasagna noodles)
  • Spring roll skins
  • Cento manzanilla green olives (most brands have lactate in them, which can be dairy sourced)
  • Bob’s Red Mill grits
  • Quaker white corn meal
  • Spectrum palm shortening
  • Bragg’s nutritional yeast (for cheesy flavor in chicken divan)
  • Peter Pan peanut butter
  • Ener-G egg replacer (though I use chia seeds mostly)
  • Organic coconut flakes
  • Simply Balanced gluten free plain breadcrumbs
  • Luce’s gluten free bread mix (sourdough & rye are our favorites)
  • organic tomato paste (from Costco)
  • Goya canned black beans
  • Genova tuna packed in olive oil
  • Newman’s Own mild salsa (son only)
  • Black Pearl olives
  • Great Lakes pork gelatin (to make gummies, gelatin salads, and marshmallows)
  • Armour or Hormel corned beef hash (son only)
  • Old El Paso traditional refried beans (my son uses them as a dip for Tostitos)
  • For kids’ lunchboxes, we also have: Lay’s and Cape Cod potato chips (plain), Tostitos organic and regular plain corn chips, Capri Sun and Poland Spring Water, Organic mott’s no-sugar-added applesauce, Enjoy Life s’mores bars, Enjoy Life chocolate chocolate chip cookies

 

 

Leave a Reply

