kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Butternut Squash & Pasta October 22, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kathy Brown @ 1:47 pm

Since I changed every ingredient in the recipe I looked at, I’m posting the recipe I came up with as my own. This is absolutely delicious (I’m eating it as I type) and great for a damp Autumn day.

14787575_10157515046245618_1984543356_o

This made one (very large) serving:

1/2 c. cubed butternut squash

1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground ginger

cooked gluten free pasta (about 1 1/2 c.)

1/3 c. soy-free Earth Balance

1/2 tsp. dried rubbed sage

pinch of ginger

pinch of nutmeg

1/4 tsp. crushed rosemary

1/3 c. So Delicious culinary coconut milk

Preheat oven to 400F. I used a foil lined cookie sheet to save on clean up. I sprayed the foil with olive oil, then sprayed the diced squash with olive oil, then tossed the squash with ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I baked for about 15-20 minutes (until it was tender when poked with a fork). Removed from oven.

While the squash was baking, I made the pasta.

In a saucepan, I melted the Earth Balance, added the sage, ginger, nutmeg, and rosemary, then added the culinary coconut milk and stirred to combine. Removed from heat. After the squash was done, I dumped that into the cream sauce, and added the pasta. I turned the heat back on for about 1 minute and stirred to combine. Creamy and delicious! Good thing the rest of the family was out so I didn’t have to share!

 

Leave a Reply

