kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Grandma Murphy’s Rice Pudding May 21, 2016

I know, I know, I already have two recipes for rice pudding. What can I say? I love rice pudding. And no, Grandma Murphy is not even my grandma! This is a friend’s grandmother’s recipe, which I’ve modified to be safe for me (but not my son, since it’s got eggs in it).

4 c. So Delicious unsweetened or vanilla rice milk

2/3 c. jasmine or basmati rice

3/4 c. sugar + 2-3 Tbs. sugar

1 Tbs. soy-free Earth Balance

3 eggs (separated)

1 Tbs. gluten free vanilla extract

In a heavy saucepan, combine coconut milk, sugar, rice, and soy-free Earth Balance. Cook on low for about an hour, stirring occasionally. Test rice to make sure that it’s tender/cooked. Turn off.

Separate 3 eggs. Put egg whites into a stand mixer (or use a bowl and a hand mixer). Beat the whites until stiff, adding 2-3 Tbs. sugar, so that it looks like meringue.  Yolks should be in a bowl. Temper eggs by putting a little of the rice mixture in at a time and stirring. Then add yolks/rice mixture back into the pudding. Turn the pudding back on and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add vanilla. Turn off.

Preheat oven to 350F. Fold egg whites/meringue into pudding. Put in the oven to brown the meringue (keep a close eye on it; it will be less than 10 minutes).

 

Leave a Reply

