kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Macaroons December 13, 2015

I wanted to make macaroons for an Anniversary party I was going to, and my daughter wouldn’t share her “secret recipe” with me, so I made my own. I started with a gluteny one, and made some changes.

  • 1-1/3 cups shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup sugar, divided
  • 2 tablespoons gluten-free flour (I used Pamela’s GF blend)
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (see recipe here)

Combine coconut, half of the 1/3 cup of sugar, flour, salt, and vanilla. Mix well.

Beat egg whites on high until frothy. Add rest of sugar, 1 teaspoon at a time, until stiff peaks form.

Fold the coconut mixture into the egg whites. Using a medium scoop, drop by scooperful onto ungreased insulated baking sheet. Bake in preheated 325F oven for 18 minutes. Let cool about 5 minutes on the baking sheet, then remove and cool completely.

The last Macaroon

The last Macaroon

 

Leave a Reply

