kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Our Version of Hamburger Helper (aka Cheesy Mac) March 19, 2015

Filed under: Main Dish — Kathy Brown @ 10:50 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not really sure why my husband calls this Cheesy Mac, but he does. It’s the slight modification of an old girl scout recipe from my mother-in-law (who was my girl scout leader when I was young).

1 lb. ground pork (or beef)

1 1/4 c. gluten-free elbow macaroni (I prefer Barilla’s gluten free pastas)

2 Tbs. minced onion

1 tsp. sea salt

1/4 tsp. ground pepper

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce

1 c. water

2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce (I now have to make my own; look for that recipe soon)

Cook ground pork and onion until meat is browned and onion is tender. Stir in macaroni, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring 2-3 minutes. Add tomato sauce, water, and Worcestershire sauce. Stir. Cover and cook on low 20 minutes. Stir. Turn off heat and let stand 5 minutes. Serve.

 

Leave a Reply

