kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Homemade “Ricearoni” or Rice Pilaf March 19, 2015

This is one of my kids’ favorite side dishes. And my husband isn’t a huge fan of rice, but even he agrees this one is tasty. I will put in the amounts for a serving size equal to the serving sizes in a regular box of Ricearoni. Be forewarned, I double, triple, or quadruple this recipe ever since the first time I made it.

1 Tbs. finely minced onion

1 tsp. finely minced garlic (optional, now that I can no longer tolerate garlic)

1/2 c. rice vermicelli noodles, broken into small pieces (I stick it in a plastic bag and use a mallet on it)

3/4 c. white jasmine or basmati rice

2 Tbs. soy-free Earth Balance

15 oz. chicken broth (I use homemade, which is salt-free)

1/2 tsp. sea salt (or more to taste)

Melt soy-free Earth Balance in a saucepan. Saute onion until tender (not browned). Add broken rice noodles and rice. Stir to coat. Add salt, and chicken broth. Turn to low, and cook until all the liquid is absorbed, stirring occasionally. It takes about 20 minutes. I haven’t timed it for the double, triple, quadruple batches.

 

Leave a Reply

