kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Fish Fry Batter March 25, 2013

I have no idea if this will work the same thing with darker buckwheat flour. I love the light buckwheat flour from Bouchard Family Farms.

1/2 c. light buckwheat flour

1/2 c. tapioca starch

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

6 oz. seltzer

Mix all ingredients together. Let stand for 5 minutes. Mix again. Coat fish and fry. Drain on paper towels. I also use this coating for onion rings, and add a little paprika to the mix. My kids love it.

 

2 Responses to “Fish Fry Batter”

  1. Jolenne Stewart Says:

    Would almond flour work in place of buckwheat flour?

  2. Kathy Brown Says:

    I have no idea, but if you try it, could you please post the results here? It doesn’t seem like it would work because the light buckwheat flour gets gooey and I don’t think almond flour does that (my son and I can’t have almonds, so I haven’t really experimented with almond flour).


Leave a Reply

