kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Peach Bar Cookie April 27, 2012

I wanted a bar cookie. I seem to always want some kind of cookie! I used to make a raspberry bar cookie, but I had peach jam in the fridge and that’s what I wanted to use. It might work with almond flour (my son can only tolerate a little almond, and my husband can’t have it at all, so I was leaving this one nut free). Feel free to experiment with the flour blend.
2 c. GF flour blend (I used Pamela’s GF bread mix)
1 c. sugar
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. quinoa flakes‎
1 1/2 tsp. corn-free baking powder
1 c. palm shortening or soy-free Earth Balance (has corn)
2 flax-eggs or chia eggs
1 tsp. corn-free vanilla
1 c. jam (peach, raspberry, I’ve used grape)
Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 9″x13″ pan.
Mix all ingredients except jam. Press half of dough into 9×13″ pan. Spread jam over all (within 1/2″ of edge, so it doesn’t stick). Top with remaining dough (I just sort of sprinkled it on with my hands). Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes. Let cool a little before eating – that jam gets hot!
 

Leave a Reply

