kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Meatloaf April 27, 2012

I grew up hating meatloaf. In our house it was ground beef and Lipton’s onion soup packet mixed together and baked until dry. I didn’t like my mother-in-law’s meatloaf recipe either (in fact, that first meal at the in-law’s house is legendary). I make it for my husband once in a while anyway and he takes it to work for lunches. Once while making it, the power went out, so I fired up the grill and put it on the grill to finish baking it, and when I went out to check on it, it started hailing on me. We called it The Curse of the Meatloaf. So the other day, I wanted to try it again, and make it so that I’d like it. It should just be a big meatball, right? And I love meatballs. My son had two slices, and I had two slices. When my husband came home, the meatloaf was half gone and he was shocked; “who ate my meatloaf?” So here’s what I ended up with:

1 lb. ground beef

1/2 lb. ground pork

1 chia egg (1 Tbs. ground chia seeds + 3 Tbs. water, let sit 10 seconds or until it’s goo-like)

1 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 carrot, finely grated

1/2 c. GF bread crumbs (they make rice ones, I used a corn one by Glutino)

1/4 c. unsweetened coconut milk (could use rice milk, or probably even water)

In food processor, finely chop 2 Tbs. onion + 1/4 c. baby spinach (shhhh… don’t tell my son or my husband)

Glaze: 1/4 c. brown sugar + 1/4 c. ketchup + 1 tsp. ground mustard
Mix all ingredients except Glaze in a stand mixer. Make sure it’s well combined. Place in loaf pan. Bake in 350F oven for an hour. Pour off grease/juice. Spread glaze on top. Bake for 15 minutes more. Delicious. According to my husband’s family, it is always served with baked potatoes and peas.
 

Leave a Reply

