kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Meatball Minestrone Soup April 27, 2012

I wanted to make a minestrone soup, but all I really wanted was a tomato based soup. I wasn’t really even sure what was in minestrone! As it turns out, there’s usually beans and/or pasta in it, neither of which I wanted. So I’m not really sure what I ended up with, except good soup. You could even leave out the meatballs, and just have vegetable soup. Make it your own.

2 Tbs. olive oil

1 Tbs. minced garlic

1 rib celery, thinly sliced

1 large carrot, thinly sliced

1/4 c. sweet onion, minced

4 c. stewed tomatoes

1 14.5 oz. can of green beans

1/2 c. frozen peas

1/2 tsp. parsley

1/4 tsp. basil

1/4 tsp. oregano

2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 Tbs. tomato paste

3 1/2 c. water

meatballs (I used leftover Italian seasoned ones I had in the freezer)

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic, onions, carrots, and celery. Saute 5 minutes, until tender. Add tomatoes with juice, and green beans and peas. Add water and tomato paste, and seasonings. Bring soup to a boil. Add meatballs if desired. Cover and let simmer 30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

