kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Gelatin Gummies April 27, 2012

My kids love gummies. I love gummies. But the Yummy Earth ones left something to be desired, and they were expensive. So I got some plastic chocolate molds, and started mixing. The ratios I came up with are:

2 2/3 Tbs. gelatin (that’s 2 Tbs. + 2 tsp. gelatin)

1/3 c. sugar

1/8 tsp. ascorbic acid (I get mine from Pure Encapsulations, it’s for tartness)

1/3 c. juice (I’ve tried grape juice and cherry juice so far, cranberry might be next)

In a small saucepan, combine juice and gelatin. Once it gels, add the sugar and ascorbic acid. Heat on low until everything is combined/melted. Then remove from heat and pour into molds. I just have small hearts and stars. Someday I’ll get the little bears. The molds I have don’t need to be greased. I just loosen one corner of the gummy after it’s set a couple of hours, and pull it out.

 

2 Responses to “Gelatin Gummies”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I’ve made white grape, orange and cherry so far. We love them. One question…my gummies have white “foam” on the top. Any suggestions? Am I not cooking them long enough? Thanks for any help.


Leave a Reply

