kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Evil Muffin Bliss (Chocolate Chunk Muffins) April 27, 2012

The first time I made these, I used eggs. They were so good that my youngest daughter asked me to make them egg-free so that my son could have them too. Warning, they’re very addictive. Thanks to Corinne for naming them for me!

2 c. gluten-free flour blend (I used Pamela’s GF bread mix)

1/3 c. brown sugar

1/3 c. cane sugar

2 1/2 tsp. corn-free baking powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

2/3 c. coconut or rice milk

1/2 c. palm shortening, melted

2 chia eggs (2 Tbs. milled chia seeds + 6 Tbs. water, let sit 10 seconds to form goo)

2 tsp. corn-free vanilla extract

1 c. Enjoy Life chocolate chunks

Mix all ingredients together in mixing bowl until combined. Grease muffin tin, or use paper cupcake liners. Fill 12 muffin cups. Bake at 400F for 18-20 minutes.

I called them muffins because I wanted them for breakfast. My daughter wanted them served at her birthday party, so then I called them cupcakes. See how versatile they are?

Variations I’ve made so far:

Blueberry muffins: substitute blueberries for chocolate chunks, and substitute 1 tsp. lemon zest for vanilla

Cherry Orange muffins: substitute 1/2 c. dried cherries for the chocolate chunks, substitute orange juice for the coconut/rice milk, and substitute 1 Tbs. orange zest for the vanilla.

 

One Response to “Evil Muffin Bliss (Chocolate Chunk Muffins)”

  1. mydearbakes Says:

    Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe =)


Leave a Reply

