kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Chinese Orange Chicken April 27, 2012

I really wanted Chinese food, but in 4 years on this restricted diet, I was petrified of trying. I’ve made sweet and sour pork, fried rice, and even egg rolls, but I’d failed on the spicier dishes. I started looking up Orange Chicken recipes, and I was surprised to learn that most of them didn’t have any orange in it at all, so is it supposed to be the color? I don’t know, but I wanted a tangy orange flavor, so I had to change things up. Of course, I also couldn’t use egg, because I wanted my son to be able to eat it, so I had to change things up there too. So as usual, I ended up combining about 10 recipes, then adding and subtracting ingredients as required, and came up with a winner. My youngest thought it was a little too spicy, but luckily I had left some of the battered chicken out of the sauce, just in case my sauce failed, so she was satisfied too. Next time I make it, I’ll try to remember to take a picture before scarfing it all down!

Chicken Dip:

1/4 c. unsweetened coconut milk (I used So Delicious)

2 tsp. canola oil

Dredge:

1/2 c. cornstarch

1/4 c. GF flour blend (I used Pamela’s GF bread mix)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. sea salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

Orange Sauce Mixture:

1 1/2 Tbs. Coconut Aminos (tastes like soy sauce)

1 1/2 Tbs. orange juice

5 Tbs. sugar

5 Tbs. apple cider vinegar

Glaze:

1 tsp. minced garlic

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1 Tbs. finely minced Vidalia onion

1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper

1 Tbs. orange juice

Thickener:

1/4 c. water

1 Tbs. cornstarch

Combine ingredients for Chicken dip in a shallow bowl.

Combine ingredients for Dredge in another shallow bowl.

Combine ingredients for Orange Sauce in another bowl. Set aside.

Combine Thickener ingredients. Set aside.

Heat canola or other safe oil to 375F in a heavy saucepan (or use deep fryer).

Cut chicken breasts in small strips, about 1 1/2″ x 1/3″. Dip in chicken dip, then dredge. Fry in 375F oil for 4-5 minutes, then drain on paper towels.

When all the chicken is cooked, heat 1 Tbs. canola or olive oil in fry pan or wok. Add minced garlic, and ginger, and stir 10 seconds. Add finely minced onion and crushed red pepper. Add 1 Tbs. orange juice and stir for 5 seconds. Add previously made Orange Sauce to pan and bring to a boil. Add the previously made Thickener, and stir. Add fried chicken pieces and stir to coat. Heat until sauce is thickened.

I served it with steamed jasmine rice.

 

Leave a Reply

