kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Christmas Cookies December 26, 2011

This year I wanted 10 kinds of safe cookies for Christmas. I made Amy’s Awesome Gingerbread cookies, which roll out like a dream, and “normal” people love them too (I’m still checking if there’s a link to include here). I also made chocolate truffles (Enjoy Life chocolate chips melted + a couple tablepoons of Coconut Milk yogurt plus a couple drops of peppermint oil, rolled in corn-free confectioners sugar);  rumballs (recipe said to make safe brownies, let them cool, then mix with rum and shape into balls; I wasn’t that thrilled); fruitcake   – except I substituted brandy for the water; a small sugar cookie with orange zest that I have no idea what the recipe was; candy cane cookies; shortbread cookies; thumbprint cookies; chocolate refrigerator cookies; and I melted some marshmallows and mixed them with gluten-free Rice Krispies, peppermint oil, and Enjoy Life chocolate chips. All kinds but the fruitcake were safe for everyone (my husband couldn’t have it because of the nuts, though I didn’t give it to the kids because of the brandy). And technically the rumballs were safe, but I didn’t give those to the kids either. And I made chocolate cheesecake bars for my husband and my oldest daughter so they could have something “normal” too.

 

Leave a Reply

