kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Thumbprint Cookies February 23, 2011

When I was cleaning the pantry, I found some fig spread which was safe for my daughter and I, but not safe for my son (he can’t have cane sugar). So I looked around for ideas where I could use two (or more) different fillings. Someone thought of thumbprint cookies and away I went.

1 c. palm shortening

2/3 c. beet or cane sugar

1 tsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. lemon zest

1 c. sorghum flour

1/2 c. tapioca flour

1/2 c. water chestnut flour

2 tsp. karaya gum

Cream shortening and sugar. Mix in lemon zest and lemon juice. Then mix in the rest of the ingredients until smooth. Roll dough into balls and place on ungreased insulated baking sheet. Make a thumb dent in each cookie and fill with fig spread or in my son’s case, safe grape jelly that my mother made with palm sugar and her own grapes in the fall. Bake 15 minutes in preheated 350F oven.

 

One Response to “Thumbprint Cookies”

  1. Leigh Says:

    I’ve also heard this style of cookie referred to as “jelly bowls”.


Leave a Reply

