kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Waffle Cones February 3, 2011

Filed under: Dessert,Recipe — Kathy Brown @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My mother has been buying my oldest daughter pizzelles, and every time I got a whiff of one, I started drooling. I went to Macy’s looking for a pizzelle maker, but they only had them on their website, not in their stores. But they did have a waffle cone maker on close-out for only $13.99. So why not?

After looking at the recipes included with it, which all contained eggs, butter, and flour, I decided to modify my buckwheat waffle recipe, by adding a little more sugar, and taking out a few other ingredients. I was trying to do it without gums or flax, to have as few ingredients as possible.

I would have taken a picture, but… well… we ate them too fast.

2 c. light buckwheat flour

1 c. sugar (I used beet sugar)

1/2 tsp. sea salt

4 Tbs. canola oil

1 c. water

I mixed the ingredients then divided the batter in half. I mixed 1 tsp. cinnamon into half the batter, and I mixed 1 Tbs. cocoa + 1 tsp. corn-free vanilla in the other.  The instructions on the waffle cone maker said 1-3 Tbs. of batter, and cook for 1 minute. Be very careful not to get a steam burn. I’m not sure if waffle cone makers differ in degree of safety; I used an oven mitt to open and close it each time.

Delicious. Just like a sugar cone. We didn’t actually make any into cone shapes, because we were too busy eating them like cookies. They would make really good sandwich cookies with frosting in the middle (oreo-ish) or some other gooey filling. And I think they’ll hold up in a lunchbox, but we still have to conduct that experiment.

 

One Response to “Waffle Cones”

  1. […] Makes about 10 baskets, Adapted from Kathy’s Recipe Box […]


Leave a Reply

