kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Hives! January 15, 2011

Filed under: Blog — Kathy Brown @ 3:13 pm

My kids and I have food intolerances, not allergies. My youngest daughter did have an allergic reaction to Amoxicillan when she was about 1 year old (rash and vomiting), and I have had a full torso eczema reaction to two antibiotics, that doctors say is an allergic reaction. I have not really had an experience with hives however. Last night I had a grilled peanut butter and jelly sandwich (like a grilled cheese, except with peanut butter and jelly, and I use palm shortening instead of butter). Shortly after I finished heating, my face felt all flushed, but I chalked it up to eating hot food. Then my back started itching. I asked my husband if I had bumps or something on my back. He looked, and said, “Whoa!” I went to look in the bathroom mirror, and I had raised slash marks all over my back that had redness all around them, and they were intensely itchy. I took 2 Benadryl. And the itching subsided but didn’t go away. About 4 hours later I looked, and I could still see some of the hives, and I was still a little itchy and wanted to go to bed, so I took another Benadryl before bed. This morning, all evidence is gone. Now to find the culprit….

 

Leave a Reply

