kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Pierogies January 12, 2011

Filed under: Main Dish,Side Dish — Kathy Brown @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Since my kids never liked pierogies, and my son can’t have potatoes anyway, which is my favorite filling, I didn’t try to find an egg substitute in the dough. And thank you, Linda, for giving me the original recipe, back when I could have normal ingredients, so I could figure out a way to make them under my current restricted diet.

Filling:

6 red potatoes, boiled

2 Tbs. palm shortening

2 Tbs. bacon grease

1/8 tsp. dry mustard

pinch garlic powder

1 tsp. sea salt

3 tsp. nutritional yeast

Dough:

4 eggs

1 c. tapioca starch

2 c. sorghum flour

2 c. light buckwheat flour

1 1/2 c. original almond or rice milk

1 tsp. sea salt

3 tsp. karaya gum

Mix all ingredients for filling. Mash.

Mix all ingredients for dough. Turn dough onto floured surface. Cut off a small piece of dough and roll out to 3/8″ thickness. Cover dough in between so it doesn’t dry out. Using a circle cutter, place rounds on trays lined with wax paper. Do not let edges touch, since they’ll stick together. Place filling in half of one round, fold over, and crimp the edges with a finger or a fork. When all are ready, bring a big pot of water to a boil. Boil each batch for 15-20 minutes (crowded pot is better because you don’t want the pierogies to tumble around too much or they’ll break open). Drain.

 I froze a lot of them since I’m the only one who eats them.

When I was ready to eat them, I heated up some bacon grease, and fried up the pierogies with some diced onions. Yum! Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

