kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Coconut Creme Brulee January 12, 2011

I REALLY missed creme brulee after taking dairy out of my diet. My son can’t have these because of the eggs, and I played around a little with the number of yolks (yes, regretfully, I had to eat ALL my experiments). And after I make a batch of this, I need to make things like lemon meringue pie and meringue cookies, to use up all the egg whites. But every once in a while I just need creme brulee. And it’s fun to use the cooking torch!

1/3 c. safe sugar

2 tsp. corn-free vanilla

1 tsp. tapioca starch

7 egg yolks

2 1/4 c. coconut milk

4-8 tsp. safe sugar for caramelizing

In a medium bowl, whisk sugar, tapioca starch, egg yolks, then coconut milk until blended. Pour mixture into four 6-oz. ramekins set in a deep baking dish. Set pan in preheated 300F oven.  Pour hot water into pan until water is halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Pour mixture into ramekins. Bake 30 minutes, then tent aluminum foil over the top to prevent browning and bake another 30 minutes. Remove pan from oven. Carefully remove ramekins from pan and chill for several hours. Just before serving, shake a teaspoon or two of sugar on top of custard, and caramelize with a kitchen torch or under the broiler (watching carefully, because it only takes a few minutes).

 

Leave a Reply

