kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Tortillas January 11, 2011

I was making my own tortillas for a while. Then rice was okay for my son again, on rotation, and we decided to trial corn, so I got some pre-made rice tortillas at the health food store. Uh… yeah… I’m going to make my own again. I especially like them deep-fried and made into tortilla chips!

3/4 c. sorghum flour

3/4 c. light buckwheat flour

1/2 c. tapioca starch

1 1/2 tsp. karaya gum

1 Tbs. palm shortening

1 tsp. sea salt

1 c. warm water

Mix all ingredients and form into a ball. Separate into 8 pieces. Roll as thin as possible with a rolling pin, using more tapioca starch to prevent sticking. Dry fry on a hot griddle for 2 minutes on each side. Keep warm under a towel.

After it’s rolled out, you can also cut into triangles, and then deep fry for tortilla chips.

 

One Response to “Tortillas”

  1. Connie Ferguson Says:

    Thank u! So excited to try this, tortilla chips are my absolute fave and corn makes me sick but still I have them once in awhile and always pay for it, so this I will def be making!


Leave a Reply

