kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Sandwich Bread January 11, 2011

This took some doing to figure out. And I’ve had to change it a few times as my son became sensitive to things that were in (like almond milk). It’s impossible to find a store-bought gluten-free bread which also doesn’t use rice, eggs, and/or corn. Or if there is one, I haven’t found it yet! I have tweaked it a little since it was on my old blog, so mark up your recipe if you’ve already printed it out.

1 c. sorghum flour + 3/4 c. sweet potato starch + 1/2 c. tapioca starch

OR 1 1/2 c. sorghum flour + 3/4 c. tapioca starch

1 c. light buckwheat flour

4 tsp. karaya gum

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 c. safe sugar

1 tsp. sea salt

1 Tbs. instant or active dry yeast

3 flax eggs

1/3 c. palm shortening

1 tsp. safe vinegar

1 1/2 c. almond or rice milk or water

Grease 9″x5″ loaf pan with palm shortening. Blend all ingredients together for 2-3 minutes (I use my Kitchenaid mixer with the paddle, not the dough hook). Pour into prepared pan. Let rise in warm area for 1 hour. Bake in preheated 375 F oven for 55-60 minutes. Remove from pan and cool on cooling rack. It’s easier to slice if you let it cool (that doesn’t always happen here). And it freezes.

 

10 Responses to “Sandwich Bread”

  1. Jen Says:

    Any suggestion for the “egg” instead of using flax? My son has a lot of allergies including egg, corn & gluten (to name a few) so I was very excited to find your website & see your recipes. He is also allergic to a number of seeds & seems to be sensitive to flax seed.
    any substitution for the karaya gum (if i can’t find it?) I have used agar agar & trying guar gum again.

  2. Kathy Brown Says:

    I’ve also used chia seeds as egg replacement. Use half as many chia seeds with the same amount of water, and you puree them in a blender or food processor. I get karaya gum at Jo-ann Fabrics. It’s made by Wilton as Gum-Tex in the cake decorating section. You can also use guar gum. I don’t use agar agar because my youngest daughter couldn’t have any seaweed products.

  3. JaneS Says:

    Hello dear 🙂
    What does the vinegar do? I’m reading to try yeast again for DS and we don’t really have any safe vinegar or citrus. Maybe a sm. amount of whey, that’s acidic right?
    OXOX

  4. Kathy Brown Says:

    The vinegar is the activator (acid) for the baking soda. Can your son have cream of tartar? You could probably use baking powder instead of baking soda, though I’m not sure what’s equivalent. I’m not really sure what whey does, since we can’t have milk! Not even rice vinegar? We used balsamic vinegar for the longest time because my son couldn’t have rice or apples.

  5. Beth Says:

    Would there be a way to make this into buns? Sounds like it is like a batter. Maybe large muffin tins??

  6. Beth Says:

    Also, we have never used sorghum, is there something I could use as a substitute? Maybe rice flour? Or maybe oat flour? Any suggestions?? Thanks!!

  7. Kathy Brown Says:

    I haven’t had success making it into buns, but I don’t remember trying a muffin tray. Let me know how it works out if you try it!! Make sure you grease it well. And it probably won’t take as long to bake, so keep an eye on them.

    I have never used oat flour (my kids can tolerate the gluten free version now; I still can’t). Rice flour will probably work as a substitute. When I developed this recipe, my son couldn’t have rice, but he got it back in his diet after a couple years off it.

  8. SyndiSue Says:

    you could also try english muffin rings

  9. Lynn Says:

    I have never heard of flax eggs. What are they? Also, my son can’t do rice and corn so this recipe is great however he can do eggs. Can I just use regular eggs instead of flax eggs?

  10. Kathy Brown Says:

    Flax eggs are under the Substitutions category… but it’s 1 Tbs. milled flax + 3 Tbs. hot water, microwaved for 1 minute. Or you could do a chia egg. 1 Tbs. milled chia + 3 Tb. hot water, let sit for 10 seconds. You can probably just use eggs. My son can tolerate eggs now as long as the chickens haven’t been fed any soy, but those eggs are VERY hard to find!


Leave a Reply

