kathysrecipebox

Cooking with food intolerances

Coconut Milk Yogurt January 10, 2011

I wanted to have yogurt in our diet because it’s healthy, yet with no dairy, and no soy, the only other choice was commercial coconut milk yogurt (which only became available in the last couple of years), and even that had ingredients that were off limits to us.

It took me about 15 trials to get this right, but I’m glad I didn’t give up. I use this in dips, salad dressings, as a sour cream substitute on baked potatoes or in beef stroganoff, in baking, and my daughter’s favorite, mixed with fruit.

I use GI Prohealth brand yogurt starter. It is labeled dairy free, however it does have a minute amount of dairy in it (measured in parts per million). My children, who are pretty sensitive, do not react to it. But it is not recommended for people with anaphylactic IgE milk allergies.

3 14-oz. cans coconut milk

3 Tbs. tapioca or sweet potato starch

2 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. corn-free vanilla extract (optional)

1/2 tsp. yogurt starter

In a heavy saucepan, heat 2 1/2 cans of the coconut milk with the sugar, and the vanilla if using. Add the tapioca or sweet potato starch to the other half a can, whisking until dissolved.  When the coconut milk starts boiling, whisk in the remaining coconut milk/tapioca starch slurry. Stir until thickened. Cool to 90F. Stir in the yogurt starter. Follow yogurt incubator instructions. Incubate 12 hours. Chill.

 

2 Responses to “Coconut Milk Yogurt”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    Have you tried adding protein powder? I’d like to make a coconut yogurt with the protein amounts of dairy yogurt.

  2. Kathy Brown Says:

    I have not tried using protein powder. If you do, let me know how it turns out!


Leave a Reply

